The Arkansas motorcycle laws establish the basic rules of the road for operators and passengers. Our state’s laws offer substantial leeway on many issues, including the choice of whether to wear a helmet if you are 21 or older.
This legal flexibility can provide both advantages and detriments, depending on the circumstances.
In Arkansas, motorcycle safety often has more to do with common sense that the state statutes.
If you sustained severe injuries in a motorcycle crash, you could have grounds to take legal action. If another party caused your injury accident, you may be entitled to compensation for your physical, emotional, and financial damages.
Talk to an Arkansas motorcycle accident lawyer from Cottrell Law Office today to learn about your options for pursuing a legal claim for your injuries and other damages.
What Is the Arkansas Motorcycle Helmet Law?
If you plan to ride a motorcycle in Arkansas, you need to know how the state’s motorcycle laws affect you. The state’s helmet laws have changed over time, becoming less restrictive and requiring fewer safety precautions than previous versions.
Under the Arkansas motorcycle laws, Only individuals under age 21 must wear helmets when operating a motorcycle or riding as a passenger. Just because you can avoid wearing a helmet does not mean that you should.
According to the U.S. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC), wearing helmets could save thousands of motorcyclists’ lives each year.
In addition, widespread helmet use could reduce economic costs by more than $1 billion annually.
Is Lane Splitting Legal in Arkansas?
The statutes make no reference to lane sharing, lane filtering, or lane splitting in Arkansas.
Lane splitting (also known as riding the stripe or white lining) refers to the practice of driving a motorcycle between lanes of moving traffic. Lane filtering, a similar practice, describes riding the stripe between lanes of stopped traffic. Lane sharing occurs when two motorcycles ride side-by-side in a single lane.
As the law does not prohibit any of these practices, you can legally share, split, or filter a lane on your bike. However, like not wearing a helmet, being legal does not necessarily mean these practices are safe.
Operators should always know the local laws for motorcycle operation and take every possible precaution to remain safe on the roadways.
What Are the Other Important Motorcycle Laws In Arkansas?
Several other Arkansas motorcycle laws apply to all operators and, if applicable, passengers.
Although the law does not require riders aged 21 and older to wear helmets, operators of all ages must wear eye protection. You must be at least 16 years old to carry a passenger on a motorcycle. State laws prohibit carrying any passenger younger than age 8.
If you carry a passenger, your bike must have a designated passenger seat and foot pegs for the passenger (or an allowable sidecar).
No more than two people can ride a motorcycle in Arkansas. You must have a headlight, even during the daytime. However, the law does allow you to have a modulating light. Finally, Arkansas motorcycle laws do not require turn signals.
If you violate any of these laws, you could face a monetary fine of up to $50. However, you could face up to 30 days in jail, upon conviction.
Talk to a Personal Injury Lawyer Regarding Arkansas Motorcycle Safety
If you sustained serious injuries in an Arkansas motorcycle crash, seek help from the personal injury attorneys of the Cottrell Law Office. We understand how difficult it can be to fight this legal battle on your own.
Let us help you by providing comprehensive legal strategies tailored to your specific needs.
Call 855-520-8801 or contact us online to speak to one of our experienced attorneys regarding how the Arkansas motorcycle laws might affect your claim.