meeting the threshold

In auto accident cases, and most other personal injury cases, the person who is injured will seek compensation for his or her injuries by filing a lawsuit.

Typically, the compensation is for medical treatment that was required as a result of the accident, as well as compensation for the estimated costs of any possible future medical care.

In auto accident cases in particular, compensation is also based on the rules of liability that are followed in your state.  

In some states, the person who was injured is required to “meet the threshold,” before they can receive compensation.  But, many clients ask what is meant by “meeting the threshold?”

What Does the Term “Meeting the Threshold” Mean?

In states that have “no-fault” laws that govern auto accident cases, the person who is injured cannot make a claim for damages against the person who was responsible, unless they meet the “threshold.”  

In other words, unless your injuries are serious enough, such as broken bones, disfigurement, or permanent injuries, you cannot seek a claim for damages.

States with Specific Dollar Thresholds

The threshold amount varies from one state to the next.  In some cases, it is described by the required seriousness of the injury, or by a specific dollar amount.  

In Hawaii, Kansas, Kentucky, Massachusetts, Minnesota, North Dakota, and Utah, an injured individual’s medical expenses must exceed a dollar threshold amount before they will be allowed to take their injury liability claim to court.

Can a Policyholder File a Bad Faith Lawsuit?

States with Serious Injury Thresholds

In other states, including Florida, Michigan, New Jersey, New York, and Pennsylvania, an injured person can file a claim if they are seriously injured.  

What is considered a serious injury is defined by the laws in each state, and usually are expressed either by criteria (permanent disfigurement, scarring, or fractured bones) or expressed in terms of length of disability.

If you have questions on whether you meet the threshold and want an expert to review your specific situation, call for a consultation today.

Do Arkansas and Missouri Apply The “Meeting the Threshold” Doctrine?

Both Arkansas and Missouri are “at fault” states.  This means that the driver who is responsible for the accident is the person who will be held financially responsible for the injuries and property damage the accident caused.  

All drivers in “at fault” states are required to carry auto insurance.  At fault states, such as Missouri and Arkansas, do not have a serious injury threshold.

Settling a Personal Injury Claim

Contact Us Schedule your free consultation.

What Do Damages for Personal Injury Claims Consist Of?

Economic damages, resulting from a personal injury, generally include reimbursement for medical expenses related to the treatment of your physical injuries.  

This also includes future expenses for medical services such as doctors, emergency room treatment, and ambulance fees.

Another type of economic loss relates to loss of income.  Lost wages represent the money you would have earned if you had not missed work due to your injuries and the treatment you received.  

It is also possible to recover for any lost earning capacity.  If your ability to earn money in the future has been reduced by your injuries, you may be able to recover for that as well.

Contact Our Car Accident Attorneys at Cottrell Law Office Today

If you have questions regarding automobile accidents, or any other personal injury concerns, contact the Cottrell Law Office at (888) 433-4861.

Author Photo

Wesley Cottrell

Wes Cottrell earned his B.A. from Pittsburg State University in 1981 and his J.D. from the Washburn University School of Law in Topeka, Kansas in 1985. He was admitted to practice law in Kansas in 1986, in Missouri in 1987, in Arkansas in 1989, and Oklahoma in 1993. He is licensed to practice law in the United States District Court for the District of Kansas, eastern Arkansas, western Arkansas, and western Missouri. He was Deputy Prosecuting Attorney in Crawford County, Kansas from 1987-1989.

Rate this Post

1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars